London week 1 was amazing. I was a tourist for the week. Daily activities entailed leisure walks across the Thames, tea breaks in Pimlico and sampling the goodies in Borough Market. It was the perfect beginning of the next phase of my life. As the Brits put it “Just Brilliant”.

And then there was week 2. As some of you noticed, the tone of my social media posts and blog entrees were a bit humdrum.  I was miserably sick with what my Brit co-workers dubbed “Bisi’s London inoculation”. According to them, New York germs didn’t have anything on London germs. And they suggested that it was good that I was getting sick now. “U’ll be straunga”. Imagine my face as I’m looking at them with a violent hacking cough that turned my face blush red… And y’all know I don’t turn red easily. Didn’t the Puritans kill off half the Native American population with their germs? Just sayin’.

Inoculations usually come in the form of a vaccine. Like the vaccine for the flu, malaria, mumps and polio inoculate against these deadly diseases, this cold would inoculate me against London germs.  Vaccines work by using weak strain of a deadly virus to trick the body into creating antibodies to fight against the real thing.   But this cold was in no way a weak strain; this was the real thing. And judging from historical attempts of Native American inoculation, I didn’t like my chances. People offered up various home remedies from ginger, lemon, salt and water etc. While I love my home remedies, this cold was something else. If I was in New York, I would have waited three days before going to the doctor to get an antibiotic script to wipe all signs of the pesky bacteria invading my body. But antibiotics not only kill pesky cold bacteria, it also damages your immune system.  

I’m all better now with the help of cough medicine meant for “chesty coughs”, ginger, lemon and salt water. These ingredients that are inexpensive and enabled my naturally produce antibodies that will protect me for the rest of this cold season and the next. So resist taking antibiotics and try home remedies when you get your next cold.

Visit the links below for more information on the rise of antibiotic resistance:

